Notice of Cybersecurity Incident

Morris Hospital Re-Certified as Primary Stroke Center

Morris Hospital Re-Certified as Primary Stroke Center
April 15, 2021 Janet Long

Morris Hospital Re-Certified as Primary Stroke Center


April 15, 2021, MORRIS, IL – Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers’ Primary Stroke Certification has been renewed by the Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP), an indication that Morris Hospital is practicing recognized standards for stabilizing, diagnosing, and treating acute stroke patients.

In order to achieve Primary Stroke Certification, Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers demonstrated that it meets the following standards:

  • The stroke program director has extensive experience in acute stroke.
  • The stroke code team responds to the patient bedside within 15 minutes.
  • Lab testing, advanced imaging capabilities, and neurologists are available 24/7.
  • Neurosurgical expertise is available or the ability to transfer within two hours.
  • A designated stroke unit is available.
  • Staff demonstrates competency in education requirements.

“Morris Hospital clearly demonstrates a commitment to quality and patient safety,” said Meg Gravesmill, Vice President, HFAP. “We base our certification decision on the findings of an extensive and thorough onsite review of the stroke program against standards for organizational operations and clinical services that drive patient safety and continuous quality improvement. Morris Hospital has earned the distinction of HFAP certification through its performance in successfully meeting those standards.”

According to Cara Marco, MSN, RN, Quality Manager at Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers, time is essential when someone is having a stroke.

“Morris Hospital first achieved Primary Stroke Certification in 2014 through our commitment to ensuring we have all of the necessary protocol in place so that we can quickly identify and administer treatment for stroke patients. Earning re-certification is a significant achievement that recognizes our continued commitment to providing outstanding stroke care to our patients and our community.”

The certification is awarded for three years, with a mid-cycle review required by HFAP in 18 months. Morris Hospital is also designated as a Primary Stroke Center by the Illinois Department of Public Health.

About HFAP:  Originally established in 1945, HFAP is the original healthcare accreditation program in the United States. HFAP holds deeming authority from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and also is recognized by state governments and regulatory bodies, and insurers. HFAP is a nationally recognized brand of Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC). For more information on HFAP programs, visit

About Morris Hospital: Serving patients at 26 locations, Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers includes the 89-bed Morris Hospital, as well as physician offices in Braidwood, Channahon, Coal City, Dwight, Gardner, Marseilles, Mazon, Minooka, Morris, Newark, Ottawa, Seneca, and Yorkville. With over 1,700 healthcare professionals, physicians and volunteers, Morris Hospital provides lifesaving cardiac intervention with angioplasty and stents, a radiation therapy center for cancer patients, state-of-the-art intensive care unit, sleep center, and walk-in urgent care at four locations. Morris Hospital is a Level II trauma center, Level II perinatal care provider, and primary stroke center. The hospital is known for its compassionate and personalized approach to healthcare.