COVID 19: Click here for the latest information about Morris Hospital hospitalizations, testing locations, and visiting guidelines.

Morris Hospital Continues “A” Streak for Patient Safety

Morris Hospital Continues “A” Streak for Patient Safety
November 10, 2021 Janet Long

November 10, 2021, MORRIS, IL –  Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers has received another ‘A’ on the most recent Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade that was released November 10, the hospital’s seventh consecutive since fall of 2018. This national distinction recognizes Morris Hospital’s achievements in protecting patients from harm and error in the hospital.

An independent national watchdog organization, the Leapfrog Group assigns an A, B, C, D or F grade to general hospitals across the country every six months based on over 30 national performance measures reflecting errors, injuries, accidents and infections, as well as systems hospitals have in place to prevent harm.

The data used to calculate the Fall 2021 Hospital Safety Grade covers a time period ranging from July 2017-2021, depending on the measure. Nationwide, 32% of hospitals received an A on the Leapfrog Group’s Fall 2021 safety grade, 26% received a B, 35% received a C, 7% received a D, and less than 1% received an F.

“Even as the global pandemic continues, Morris Hospital employees and physicians on the Medical Staff continue to demonstrate their commitment to delivering excellent clinical and quality outcomes for our patients,” says Kim Landers, Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nurse Executive at Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers. “Earlier this year, we received our first Five-Star overall hospital quality rating from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, which is the highest rating a hospital can receive, and now we have received our 7th straight Grade A from Leapfrog. Both of these honors are a testament to the incredible employees at Morris Hospital who are always striving to provide the best possible care for our community.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only ratings program based exclusively on hospital prevention of medical errors and harms to patients. The grading system is peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually, in the fall and spring.

“An ‘A’ Safety Grade is a tremendous achievement, of which this community should be extremely proud,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “I thank the leadership and workforce of Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers for its commitment to prioritizing patients and their safety, especially during these trying times.”

To see Morris Hospital’s full grade details and access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit

About Morris Hospital
Serving patients at 26 locations, Morris Hospital & Healthcare Centers includes the 89-bed Morris Hospital, as well as physician offices in Braidwood, Channahon, Coal City, Dwight, Gardner, Marseilles, Mazon, Minooka, Morris, Newark, Ottawa, Seneca, and Yorkville. Through the services of over 1,700 healthcare professionals, physicians and volunteers, Morris Hospital provides lifesaving cardiac intervention with angioplasty and stents, a radiation therapy center for cancer patients, state-of-the-art intensive care unit, sleep center, and walk-in care at four urgent care locations. Morris Hospital is a Level II trauma center, Level II perinatal care provider, and primary stroke center. The hospital is known for its compassionate and personalized approach to healthcare and has a Five-Star overall hospital quality rating from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the highest rating a hospital can receive.

 About The Leapfrog Group
Founded in 2000 by large employers and other purchasers, The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey and new Leapfrog Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) Survey collect and transparently report hospital and ASC performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the lifesaving information they need to make informed decisions. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, Leapfrog’s other main initiative, assigns letter grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping consumers protect themselves and their families from errors, injuries, accidents, and infections.

# # #